Growing up

So for most children, growing up is not a challenge.  By the time they reach the end of high school, they are dying to be out of the house and away from mom and dad’s rule.  But that is not the case for everyone, including myself.  You see, I was born with Pervasive Developmental Disorder, a disorder within the autism spectrum that makes social interaction and personal development a difficult task.  I went to college in my hometown, lived at home the first year, and still see my parents nearly daily, often continuing to allow them to care for me.  But I feel that I am finally growing up, within the last week or so actually.  You see, last week, my mom was very sick, another struggle for me and I was away from the house for nearly a week and had to care for my own meals, and what to do with my spare time, not that I have a lot of that anyways.  One night I had homegroup and took pizza, one had soup, and another two had chicken breasts.  And on Saturday I was able to practice being social and ride to a wedding 3.5 hours away with friends and come back the same day  It was exhausting, but I was so happy to have the opportunity to help the wonderful young couple celebrate.  And yesterday was migas (then I went home and ate more) and today was the biggest accomplishment, I made steak for the first time after taking a BIG grocery trip this afternoon since I was low on virtually everything.  I am feeling so at peace and grown up tonight.  I will always love my family and always cherish ,my time with them, but for the most part it is time for me to start caring for myself.

About redhaireddiva

Hi, my name is Rachel Hornung. I am 26 years old, a college grad and employed by Marshalls department store. I am the third of four children and have two adorable nephews and one adorable niece, and the most awesome parents and grandparents a child could ask for. I am a follower of Jesus Christ and try to seek Him out in everything. May you be blessed by my blog!
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

