Leadership

So tonight, I lead our renovare spiritual formation book study. It wasn’t something I chose to do, but rather something God chose for me to do.  Our original leader had a death in the family, so could not make it, and our host offered to lead.  However, I felt a tug on my spirit that he should not have to since he’d had a chance at leading and the meeting was in his home.  Leadership is not something that is easy for me.  I tend to be more of a follower.  The fact that I have to keep a group of 25 (or more) people on task is daunting for me.  That’s the main reason I’m not a teacher right now, I don’t have the control it takes to keep everyone on task, or at least I don’t have the confidence to believe I have the control, so in essence don’t.   But God blessed me through the leading tonight and I’m glad I listened to the spirit.  Pretty much everyone told me I did a good job and I don’t know whether it’s because they really thought I did a good job, or if they know that leadership is daunting.  But it feels good to be complimented in any case.  I am going to try to listen to the spirit of God more and take on challenges head on, even if I don’t necessarily feel I have the skills to be excellent.  God will meet me where I am.

About redhaireddiva

Hi, my name is Rachel Hornung. I am 26 years old, a college grad and employed by Marshalls department store. I am the third of four children and have two adorable nephews and one adorable niece, and the most awesome parents and grandparents a child could ask for. I am a follower of Jesus Christ and try to seek Him out in everything. May you be blessed by my blog!
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

