Plans

So, the last few days (not so much today though) have been quite a struggle.  You see, tomorrow, me, mom, Johanna, and her boyfriend Collin were supposed to be travelling to Arkansas to camp for a few days.  However, Mom decided after a strenuous, painful night about the middle of the week that she was not quite strong enough to travel that far and camp.  I was mad and disappointed for two days.  I was mean and selfish and I’m repenting of that to all my blog followers now.  But last night, I decided that I was through being upset and feeling sorry for myself because of this missed opportunity.  I was tired of feeling miserable and making everyone around me even more miserable than they already were.  This is not to say that I haven’t been tempted and at times slightly reverted back to my selfish ways today, but I know I am wrong and don’t want to continue to be selfish.  After all, God knows what He was doing.  Scripture says in Jeremiah 29:11 (my favorite verse) “For I know the plans I have for you”, declares the Lord, “plans to prosper and not to harm you, plans to give you a future and a hope.”  This verse refers to all aspects of life, not just some.  I think I often think of it as Him knowing all our big plans, like jobs, families, etc., but He cares about even the little things like trips and what we choose to eat.  Consequently, my fortune cookie fortune this evening said to “be prepared to modify your plans.”  I found it ironically funny considering what I’ve been going through.  And even though I’m missing out on Arkansas, I’m not missing out on life.  Other things have and will continue to come into play.  I am planning on attending a baby shower tomorrow and will also plan to stay with my sister Erin a few days next week, but even if these things do not work out, I will be okay.  Life goes on, even though we have disappointments.  Please pray for my continued growth and freedom from my selfish ways.

About redhaireddiva

Hi, my name is Rachel Hornung. I am 26 years old, a college grad and employed by Marshalls department store. I am the third of four children and have two adorable nephews and one adorable niece, and the most awesome parents and grandparents a child could ask for. I am a follower of Jesus Christ and try to seek Him out in everything. May you be blessed by my blog!
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

