The Year of Change

So, for me I’d say the year 2015 (the year we just finished) could be titled the year of change.  The changes started towards the mid-end of 2014 and continued on throughout the year.  Some were good, and some were hard, but all were doable with the help of God.  Starting in August, church changed, a period that brought on much grief.  A change in leadership brought a change in membership, but I guess God knew what he was doing.  Then, in December I lost my beloved grandmother.  It was a hard, difficult process.  Towards the end of December, dad retired and was constantly home. Those first few weeks off were spent in grieving and the preparations for Johanna’s wedding.  It has been nearly a year!  I can’t believe it.  February we lost our beloved dog Jewel.  I held her as she passed away.  It was another period of great grief an!d I think I may have cried more than I did for my grandmother.  In March, I bought my first car from a dealership.  We found a jewel of a car without having to do much searching around.  I thank God for it because I know I had friends praying for me to get a reliable car.  In April we celebrated Mom and Dad’s sixtieth anniversary and Easter as a family in Fort Worth.  A few weeks later they left to walk the Camino de Santiago in Spain for nearly two months.  I was left to care for the house and chickens with two other girls and had a great time.  It rained and rained though and those chickens were a muddy, stinky mess.  The whole state was.  In that time I was provided with a boyfriend, a young man I met at church who loved the Lord wholeheartedly and wanted to glorify him in all things.  He loves and respects me for who I am with no strings or judgment attached.  He is a true gift.  Then, in June me and Erin met Mom and Dad in Spain for a vacation.   After a hard, difficult school year where I’d even had to call CPS on a student it was good to get away.  I needed that time of rest and refreshment and fun.  We explored the historical sites of Spain and we ate good food until it was time to get home to grandma’s memorial, several months late.  We were exhausted and mom got shingles badly.  Even though they had a great time in Spain and I had a great time living the adult life I am glad to have them back.  They left again for a short vacation in New Mexico with grandpa and Aunt M.E. this Fall. Once again I got to care for the house, pets and home.  In retirement, they spend much time in travel and I get to have a house for a while and pets!  Aunt Anne and Con visited in November from Australia for Thanksgiving with the family.  Then, it was Christmas and for the first year Johanna was absent because she went to Collin’s family this year.  It was hard, but we managed.  Looking back, 2015 was a whirlwind of activity.  This year I am hoping for a year of regrowth in many ways.  Healing where it is needed and acceptance where it is.

About redhaireddiva

Hi, my name is Rachel Hornung. I am 26 years old, a college grad and employed by Marshalls department store. I am the third of four children and have two adorable nephews and one adorable niece, and the most awesome parents and grandparents a child could ask for. I am a follower of Jesus Christ and try to seek Him out in everything. May you be blessed by my blog!
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

